A Guide to International Driving Permit Validity

A guide to International Driving Permit validity by convention year and country

If there is a no-deal Brexit then motorist will need to apply for an international driving permit (IDP). IDPs are already required to travel in some countries outside of the EU and EEA.

The UK currently issues three types of IDP to UK licence holders who are resident in the UK: the 1926 IDP, the 1949 IDP, and the 1968 IDP.

If you are travelling to Ireland, Malta, Spain or Cyprus, you would need to acquire the 1949 permit which is valid for 12 months.

The 1968 permit will be required for driving to all other EU states. Unlike the 1949 permit this would be valid for three years.

To be able to drive in Europe. Drivers will need to purchase an international driving permit (IDP) to be able to drive in countries where the UK licence is not sufficient. Currently, British drivers can travel in EU countries without a permit using their DVLA driving licence. Some countries require motorists to use an IDP already including the USA, Brazil and Japan. The IDP is currently required in 140 countries and Brits may need to get several to be able to be legal abroad.

These permits can be purchased from the Post Office as a supplement to the driving licence. They will cost you £5.50 per permit meaning it could cost you £11 for both the 1949 and 1968 versions.

Now there are around 2,5000 Post Offices across the country you can purchase these permits from.

“There are some countries where previously UK driving licence holders required a 1926 or 1949 IDP, but after this date that version will be superseded by the 1968 IDP.

1926 IDP – 3 countries

Valid for 1 year from purchase Somalia, Mexico, Liechtenstein

1949 IDP – 73 countries/states

Valid for 1 year from purchase Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Costa Rica, Curacao, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Fiji, Ghana, Guatemala, Haiti, Holy See (Vatican City), Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Macao, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Republic of (South) Korea, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, United States of America, Venezuela, Zambia

1968 IDP – 103 countries

Valid for 3 years from purchase Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Aruba, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belarus, Bhutan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Sweden, Sudan, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe

Visit our Driving Licence Information page for supplementary information

As this page is for information only, DriverCheck cannot be held responsible in any way for any consequences arising from any inaccuracies.